Letters to Congress: Ben Carson

Write your senators. I did:

Dear Senator,

As your constituent, I urge you to oppose the nomination of Ben Carson for Secretary of Housing and Urban Development.

Carson has no experience working in government or running large organizations. But he has a long record of intolerance and of opposing fair housing laws and programs that help the poor—laws and programs he’d be in charge of at HUD.

Carson calls transgender people “abnormal” and same-sex couples “an abomination.” How can I expect him to prevent discrimination against gay couples, or ensure HIV+ individuals have equal access to public housing facilities? I believe Ben Carson would be a nightmare for gay and trans youth and adults facing poverty and housing discrimination.

As a member of the LGBT community, I am disturbed by Carson’s appalling comments about me and my community and his opposition to the very safety net programs HUD administers. Please vote no on the Carson nomination.

Sincerely,

I.Buffalo,
Pittsburgh

(via National Center for Transgender Equality.)


You can also write your House reps and other elected officials—they may not have a vote, but they know the folks who do a lot better than we do.  Here’s the letter I sent to Pittsburgh’s rep in the House, Mike Doyle:

Dear Congressman Doyle,

I realize that as a member of the House, you do not have a direct vote on Secretary confirmations. However, I hope you will use your influence on your colleagues in the Senate and urge them to oppose the nomination of Ben Carson for Secretary of Housing and Urban Development.

[…]

As a member of the LGBT community, I am disturbed by Carson’s appalling comments about me and my community and his opposition to the very safety net programs HUD administers. While I know you do not have a vote yourself, I hope that you will oppose and urge your friends and colleagues to do everything possible to defeat the Carson nomination.

Thank you,

I.Buffalo
Pittsburgh

One thought on “Letters to Congress: Ben Carson

  1. Well, I got a response from Doyle, anyway:

    “Thank you for contacting me about President-Elect Donald Trump and his proposed policy initiatives. As your Representative, I welcome this opportunity to respond.

    I share your deep concern about the recent actions and statements by President-Elect Trump. Through his appointments of White House staff and cabinet members, as well as through his rhetoric which threatens civil liberties and national security, President-Elect Trump’s vision for his term is increasingly unsettling.

    Please trust with confidence that I am ready to stand up against any injustice, inequality, or intolerance. I am proud to have signed a letter from over 160 House Democrats to President-Elect Trump, opposing his appointment of Stephen Bannon as his White House senior advisor. Personally, and through his position as the Executive Chairman of Breitbart News, Mr. Bannon has made statements which divide our nation and disqualify him from a leading role in the administration.

    I am deeply troubled by many of the Cabinet appointments that have been made by the President-elect. As a member of the House, I do not get the opportunity to vote on their confirmation; only the Senate gets to vote on presidential appointees. Nevertheless, I will certainly be in communication with our Senators from Pennsylvania to express my concerns and my hope is that no one is confirmed to the Cabinet without thorough vetting and consideration of their qualifications. I will continue to speak against these troubling decisions which send a strong alienating, discriminatory message.

    Please also rest assured that I am eager to protect the interests of our hardworking citizens over the personal interests of our executive branch. As such, I am a proud co-sponsor of H.R. 6340, the Presidential Accountability Act. Introduced by Congresswoman Katherine Clark (D-MA) and referred to the House Judiciary Committee, this legislation seeks to extend conflict of interest provisions to the President and the Vice President of the United States. I will monitor this legislation and support similar measures to check the priorities of our executive branch as Congress proceeds to its next session.

    Finally, please know that I will continue to fight for policies that strengthen the middle class; create good jobs to sustain our families; provide affordable, high-quality healthcare; preserve Medicare and Social Security; keep the country safe; ensure equal access to the best education at all levels; and defend the rights of the most vulnerable members of our society. I am honored to represent you and the great city of Pittsburgh.

    Whether you have written or called for the first time or you have been writing and calling for years, thank you for reaching out at this particularly crucial time. Our democratic process only works when citizens like you are engaged. As our nation continues to witness this presidential transition, please remain informed and keep in touch with me.

    Sincerely,

    Mike Doyle”

    Like

Comments are closed.